Curiosity

Collecting letters on the ground and put them in your heart.

Jewel of The East

I was not a big fan of Bollywood, really. The movies were filled with drama and dance and tears, all were too complicated to me. It was me during my high school years.

Since i prefer to watch cables rather than the local channels, i am  curious enough to BBC’s content, their expedition to Himalaya and travel around the world sort of things. One thing i also found on cables is Channel V India. There i find the modern face of India. In fact it is very much interesting how they has become the most developing country with huge growth, and how tradition walks side by side with modernization. 

That was the turning point, i continued to watch their movies. When i talk about Bollywood, many people would refer to “Slumdog Millionaire” but after some kick on search engine, i found out that it was not a Bollywood but Hollywood. One great thing about the movie was the song by A.R. Rahman which so captivating with the rich composition and orchestral harmony. For those who are interested to find out more, i would suggest movies like “My Name Is Khan” and “3 Idiots”. It’s quite a perfect picture of the society, a lot of drama, modernized dance and rich musical performance.

Next thing after movies were the soundtrack, i thought it’s the easiest way to find a good music. This one is even more compelling. It’s all in there, the love, the faith, the emotion. I can hardly say what that is but it’s a new experience for me who have set my ears to American hip hop and British pop. The sound of the Sitar, the extraordinary vocals and of course the lyrics. Many websites provide translation of the songs and again it was a journey to me.

India is also about food. I went to a famous Indian restaurant in town with my husband. The food seemed to make an affirmation of my thoughts of India. The culture is rich, it’s a mixture of Hindu and Islam, a bit touch of Oriental and Persian influence, very artistic. Well, i hope someday i will go to India, visit Taj Mahal and breathe the magnificent essence of Mughal’s art.

June 29, 2010 Posted by | Life, Movies | Leave a comment